Facebook is not an employer paid benefit

There’s a story on The Visible Enterprise about a survey done by Telindus, an IT services provider, on subjects such as if people would leave their job if they didn’t get access to Facebook.  WTF.

Please don’t quit your job because they don’t let you get on Facebook.  Especially when you have a full-time job that provides you with health insurance, 401K, paid vacation, and sick leave.

I went through almost two years without any of those benefits as I tried to find a place in my job field after graduating college.  It sucked!  I could never afford to go to the doctor because prescription medicine costs too much, I couldn’t take off work because I wouldn’t get paid for not being in the office, and I couldn’t even think about saving for retirement because I wasn’t making a whole lot of money – but I had access to Facebook!

Really, it doesn’t add up.  And you probably shouldn’t ask them in your interview whether they do or not.

Unless you work for the government, there are other ways to keep in contact with people, like through AOL instant messenger or Gmail.  If they don’t let you download the AIM software, you can still log in through Gmail, but you need Internet Explorer 7 or the latest Mozilla Firefox version to do so.  There’s also Meebo.

Leave a Reply

